Mittwoch, 11. Juli 2012

Cora vs Plastic Plates


Ok, so today I got up early to get to the lab in time but my supervisor isnt here yet so I get to write a bit. Where was I? Oh yes, I got a phone. Actually, by now, I’ve gotten quite used to texting... and it’s really nice to have unlimited texts and calls. Have never had that. Now I can text ppl when I’m bored or sth. I like it. So after the phone it was time for something very challenging: Getting plates, cutlery and a pan. I asked people in stores. I asked Luis. He said CVS. Ok. So I entered that store and asked:“ do you guys have plates and cutlery?“ and he’s like „yeah sure, just over there“- So I was very happy. Until i got there. It was all plastic stuff. ARGH. Luis was laughing very hard. „She’s european, she needs porcelain plates and metal cutlery“. (You don’t know how often I have to hear the sentence „Don’t worry, she’s european. Or, sorry, she’s european.“ I am SO SORRY guys but I AM.) They didnt have that. Neither did 1000 other stores. NO pans, plates, cutlery. NOTHING. Cora vs Plates and Pans: 0:1. It was very painful for me and quite amusing for Luis. After asking 100s of people we came to the conclusion that „Target“, a department store, would probably have what i need. That’s quite a walk away. So for that day I staye without plates and cutlery and i realized that it can be very hard to be european in a foreign continent. So then we went to grab some icecream. I asked for small. They gave me a MASSIVE thing. Everything is just so LARGE here. Couldn’t finish it. But it was quite good, for the US i mean. (And it was, as everything here, very expensive. Cambridge/Boston is ruining me) After the icecream Luis showed me his place (it’ called Leverett or sth and it’s sort of like our colleges in cambridge: Every student belongs to a „house“. It’s nice. But less cool than colleges, imo.) Then we went to have dinner (quite a good pizza. Well, it wasn’t pizza, more a focaccia with stuff on top but very tasty) and then we went back as Luis had organized a „party“. Sadly not very many people came and also they left early (very boring ppl indeed) and then I asked Luis to walk me back to my place but just when we left, a group of brazilian girls arrived (they were a bit late fort he „party“) so we went back up and had another one and this one was really nice!!! They were really really frienly and fun so we talked for a long time and it was a really nice atmosphere!!! Around 2 am they got hungry so we got a burrito and then they took the cab home and Luis walked me home and it took at least 45min... I’ve been walking SO MUCH here. It’s crazy. Kilometres and kilometres (or shall i say YARDS? God, why these stupid units. WHY???) So by that time it was 3am and I was very tired so I went to bed. Poor Luis had to walk back I guess. Didnt even think of that at that moment. Thanks so much dude! So I went to bed and I tried to sleep but it wasn’t easy as my room was so hot. Argh. My first 30h in the US had passed. What an interesting time full of new experiences!!!

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen