It`s been a while and so I have
quite a few things to talk about. They are mostly not connected, random things,
well, you know me :)
First of all i need to talk
about new york. OMG i love new york. I love times square. I love 5th avenue. I
love the MOMA. I love central park. I love the lights everywhere. I love the
Chrysler building. I love Rockefeller Plaza. (except for one thing: why. WHY??
is the swiss flag not square?? WHYYYYYY????? when will the world learn? oh what
a sad life. In any case that flag and the rectangular flag in front of the
lindt store have inspired me... as soon as I have time (maybe on my flight
back) i will write a story. It will be a continuation of the story about the
guy who works at the Migros Budget factory for toothpicks. (He glues together
toothpicks that break during the production process. Yeah, awesome job.) So
this guy will find a mission for his life: he will travel around the world and
fix all swiss flags by cutting them to the right shape. Yes. but let me
continue. I love the Lego store. and the nintendo store. and the lindth
store (more to that later). I love the Guggenheim. I love the view of Manhattan
as seen from the river. I love the Forest Gump Restaurant. I love shrimp. I
love how it smells of hotdogs everywhere. I love New York.
Now i need to talk about restaurants
in the US. There are some things that really annoy me. First of all, it` too
cold in there. WTH. I understand you love your AC and you want to show it off.
But please. 15 degrees celsius (fahrenheit suck by the way, seriously, why do
they have to use fahrenheit???) is NOT a comfortable temperature. I have to
walk around with a wool sweater in my bag all the time. In summer. when its sth
like 30 outside. Seriously guys. this must stop.
Ok next thing that annoys me are the waitresses/waiters.
They are friendly. But somehow it`s all very fake because they really want your
tip. as in, REALLY. so they will come to your table all the time and ask if
everything is alright smile smile smile please give me a tip please please.
it`s not cool. don`t like it. So fake. Ok next thing that annoys me. As soon as
you are done, or even before (!!!!!!) they wil come and put the bill on your
table. they say: I`ll leave this with you. What the h??? So rude. No,
seriously, unbelievable. Yesterday I was at this burger place. amazing burgers.
We were like not even half way through our meals when the waitress comes and
goes: so, are you planning on having desert after? we said we weren`t. So she
put the bill on the table. HALF WAY THROUGH MY MEAL. what is this?? no. not ok.
Another thing: if you are a group of 6 or more ppl, they will just add the tip
(18%) to the bill. So they don`t even have to be nice. can you believe it?
There is, however, one thing i like about restaurants here. the free water. As
soon as you get to the place they will give you water. And they fill up your
glass frequently. That`s definitely nice.
Now I need to talk about the lindt store in NY. So they
have chocolates that we don^t have in Switzerland. How can this be? How unfair
is this? They have Lindt balls with irish cream. YES. Irish cream. And they are
pink. Can it get any better? They also have balls with peanut butter. YES. They
are orange. And awesome. And i’m gonna take many of them home.
Now something that just annoys me. The cars here. They
are just too big. Who needs such big cars in a city? I was talking about this
to a fellow european yesterday and I think we agree that the big cars are
probably a compensation for something small...
Ok now some random news.
I visited the Novartis Institute. They have a cell
culture machine. Wow.
I went kayaking on the Charles River. Met some nice couchsurfers.
Awesome.
My nails are of a ridiculous lenght now. I can’t type. I
destroy my lab gloves all the time. I hurt people. But the sight is fun. Three
more weeks before I cut them. Only one has broken so far.
People are playing baseball outside my apparment right
now.
so american.
Keine Kommentare:
Kommentar veröffentlichen